Iyengar Yoga

 

IYENGAR YOGA
Iyengar Yoga is named after B.K.S. Iyengar who was born in 1914 in Bellur, India. He lives at the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute in Pune, India with his daughter, Geeta S. Iyengar, and his son, Prashant S. Iyengar, who carry on his work as the chief teachers of his method.

Iyengar Yoga, one of the world’s most widely practiced forms of yoga, emphasizes correct alignment of all parts of the body within each yoga pose. This precision builds strength and stamina.

In Iyengar Yoga you achieve meditation in action. Students learn to exist fully and vibrantly in the present moment.

Iyengar Yoga is for everyone. No one is too old or too stiff, too fat or thin. A Certified Iyengar Yoga teacher can guide students of all ages and physical conditions to an experience of yoga which is safe, accessible and rewarding. Iyengar Yoga teachers modify the classic asanas (yoga postures) for individual students with the use of props — such as blocks, blankets and belts. Props allow for a deeper penetration into the posture, as well as a longer stay.

Students of Iyengar Yoga begin with elementary postures, with an emphasis on the standing asanas (postures). In time, other postures are added, including forward bends and back bends, twists, inversions and restorative poses. Salamba Sarvangasana (Shoulder Balance) is introduced as soon as students are ready because of its many therapeutic benefits. Each class ends with Savasana (corpse pose) or deep relaxation. Students learn to rest in a profound way, completely releasing the body while drawing the mind towards the peace within.

RESOURCES
www.bksiyengar.com

www.iyengar-yoga-deutschland.de

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga ist nach B.K.S. Iyengar benannt, der 1914 in Bellur, Indien geboren wurde. Er lebte mit seiner Tochter Geeta S. Iyengar und seinem Sohn Prashant S. Iyengar in Pune, Indien und verstarb dort im August 2014. Seine Kinder leiten dort das Ramamani Memorial Yoga Institut.

Iyengar Yoga gehört zu den weltweit verbreitetsten Yoga Richtungen, die sich insbesondere durch die genaue Ausrichtung des Körpers in den Yoga-Haltungen (Asana) auszeichnet. Die dadurch erreichte Präzision hilft uns den Körper zu stärken und ausdauernder zu machen.
Im Iyengar Yoga erreichen wir Meditation in Aktion. Schüler lernen aufmerksam und vital in der Gegenwart zu sein. Iyengar Yoga ist für jeden etwas. Niemand ist zu alt oder zu steif, zu dick oder zu dünn.
Iyengar Yogalehrer können Schüler aller Altersstufen und physischen Bedingungen anleiten, damit sie ihre eigenen Erfahrungen im Yoga machen. Sie verändern die klassischen Asanas (Yoga-Haltungen) für einzelne Schüler durch den gezielten Einsatz von Hilfsmitteln - wie Blöcken, Decken und Gurten. Diese Hilfsmittel ermöglichen ein tieferes Eindringen in die Haltungen sowie einen längeren Verbleib und damit eine gesteigerte Erfahrung in den Körperhaltungen.
Schüler lernen zunächst Standhaltungen. Mit der Zeit schliessen sich Vorwärtsstreckungen, Rückwärtsbeugen, Drehungen, Umkehrhaltungen und regenerative Haltungen an. Der Schulterstand (Salamba Sarvangasana) wird vorgestellt, sobald die Schüler dazu vorbereitet sind, da hierdurch vielfältige therapeutische Wirkungen erzielt werden können. Jede Yoga-Stunde endet mit Savasana (Schlussentspannung). Hierbei lernen die Schüler, sich vollkommen zu entspannen und Ihre Aufmerksamkeit komplett nach innen zu richten.

WEBSITE VON WELLEBEE.COM